Hedge School
How to be Human Series
The Healing Gem of Arcadia is officially on the way!
0:00
-3:02

The Healing Gem of Arcadia is officially on the way!

Fantasy, action and adventure in a cross-over Juvenile Fiction novel
Cover art by Steve Hernandez

This is happening!! This is really happening!! And you Hedge Schoolers are some of the first to know. My debut juvenile fiction novel The Healing Gem of Arcadia will officially be released on October 4th, 2022.

The story is set in the Pacific Northwest of the United States on the Oregon coastline. A place where I grew up with magic, and whimsy and wonder.

Synopsis:

Adam’s dad is sick with a mysterious illness. While Clara’s dad has just up and left her family.

Adam’s Auntie G gives him a treasure map to find a magical healing gem in Arcadia. Clara is approached by Adam and his friends on a full moon, Queen tide summer night to find the gem and save his dad.

The crew is transported through the Arcadia Rock portal to a mysterious land where Auntie G is much younger and shows them how to discover the true power of healing and their own magical powers of intuition.

Will Clara, Adam and their friends reach the gem in time? Join the Arcadian crew as they learn how to fremember together.

Yes. I said, fremember… with an F. As in free-memory. As in future memory. This simple word and term that actually means so much was inspired by my niece Savannah who at three years old used to only say… fremember. “Don’t you fremember?” We started saying it too, and I got curious.. What does fremember mean? How does one fremember?

This story answers those questions.

Huge hat tip goes out of my friend Steve Brophy for writing out the steps of how to publish a book Part 1 & Part 2 and leading the way with his debut Alight in the Lament.

I had so much fun writing this book! I was encouraged by my writing coach Christi Krug to, “write something fun!” back in 2018 when I was amidst the trenches of writing a grief memoir.

The Healing Gem of Arcadia comes from the wonder of growing up in the magical village of Cannon Beach amidst actors, musicians, painters, writers, chefs and artists masquerading as every day people.

American novelist Toni Morrison once said:

“If there’s a book you really want to read, but it hasn’t been written yet, then you must write it.”

This is that book for me. This is the book that the kid in me needed to read when they were younger to know that everything was going to be ok. This book fills me with so much joy!

I can’t wait to share it with all of you. Thank you to each and every one of you for being along for the ride of this writing and self discovery journey. You truly are the gems in my life.

More to come Hedge Schoolers. Until then. Be well.

0 Comments
Hedge School
How to be Human Series
Charted explorations of humanness by a collective of humans walking their own path in life