Hedge School
Hedge School
Ever wanted to write a book? My self publishing journey.
0:00
-7:48

Ever wanted to write a book? My self publishing journey.

Part 1

Hello Hedge School,

The past few weeks have been entirely focused on bringing my book "alight to the lament" to daylight. I chose to self publish so I could be in charge of the whole process. The book was too personal for any other option. The freedom that self publishing brings is matched by the information overwhelm of what to do next. There are so many moving parts to getting a book out into the world. I had delusions of having the book out earlier but each step has taken longer than anticipated. Wary of rushing the final stages, I've learned to temper my expectations and thoroughly embrace each step of the process. To honour that process and to provide you with a little light on your own self publishing endeavour, I'm going to outline my journey over the last few years. I'll unfurl this process over a few posts so that I can go into depth without walloping you with information overwhelm.

“alight in the lament” will be available for purchase in the next few weeks.


Sitting in the chair

Writing brings me great joy. And frustration. Words flow. And don't. But a book doesn't get written without a dedication to discipline and a love for words dancing across the page. Daily writing has driven this for me. Every little bit counts. For this book, I have written numerous versions. Many shitty words have led to volumes that will never see the light of day. But necessary for the gold to show up.

Quantity counts here.

Writing every day, no matter how small, leads to a large amount of writing. It leads to a flow, which can lead to a deluge.

Sitting in the chair every day is paramount.

So is enjoying the process.


Collation and curation

Collating the words into a program like Roam Research, OneNote or Notion, help provide inspiration for the next day's writing. Like Hemingway, I leave sentences unfinished as a jumpstart for the slow day's of writing. Being organised as a writer helps you notice the patterns, see the growth amongst your writing and collect all inspiration. Roam Research, plus a good old notebook, are my writing partners of choice. For much of my writing, I have followed Seth Godin's advice, and shipped my shitty drafts. Hedge School has been a place to put versions of my book into the world so I can receive resonant feedback. Posting to a weekly/fortnightly schedule has also provided the necessary constraint to drive performance. Recording the Hedge School posts has been brilliant for fluidity and proof reading. Animating the words with voice really helps.

Once I have the bulk, I move it to Google Docs ready for the next stage.


Editing

Writing can be a lonely endeavour. The process of writing itself is soul searching. So too is pressing publish and hearing crickets.

All writers need readers.

Feedback completes the feedforward loop. Provides the compost for nourishing writing improvement. Once I had my first shitty draft ready, I reached out to two dear friends of mine, Leslie Lau and Benny Wallington, to help with editing. This experience changed everything for me. Les and Benny took turns editing the manuscript, leaving comments, suggestions, questions and edits in the document. I was really nervous about this process because of the importance of this book. Over a number of weeks, I had calls with Benny and Les to learn about their resonance experience while reading. I adjusted the prose and they read again. Both are talented writers and editors and I surrendered to their guidance. It was truly an experience of being held. Both tended with care and precision, helping to tighten up the piece. A great editor helps tremendously. I returned the favour to each of them as I read their own works and held space.

Spend as long on this process as you did writing the book, you will be glad you did!

This experience catalysed an idea that Les and I had for a community we called Signature Sound. Editors can edit words or they can listen with a depth that helps the true essence of the work be born. The Zoom calls allowed for this level of intimacy. The editing process was an alchemical process and I am forever better as a writer for the experience.

Les, Benny and I are now taking six people through that same experience. "alight in the lament" will be the second Signature Sound publication. Benny's book "Get Connected", written with his partner Jacqui, is the first. You can check that out at www.getbook.info

More to come on Signature Sound in future editions.


Once my manuscript was about 90% there, I began the process of book creation. I'll leave that to next week so I can provide real depth. Getting to the point of manuscript takes dedication and a willingness to move through some pretty hectic seasons.

Most people want to write a book.

Most people don't.

The goal of Signature Sound and "alight in the lament" is to help those who dream one day of holding their own original work in their hands achieve that. If this sounds like you, drop a comment below. People will spurt some bullshit about there being enough books in the world.

But the world does not have yours.


Till next week,

Steve

0 Comments
Hedge School
Hedge School
Breathing alive wisdom through deep inquiry, story, and dialogue. An audio companion to the Hedge School newsletter - https://hedgeschool.substack.com/