Hedge School
How to be Human Series
How to be Human with Jaleel Mackey
1
0:00
-1:39

How to be Human with Jaleel Mackey

Breathing life into life
1

What a treat Hedge Schoolers! This week on the How to be Human series we’ve got our special guest Jaleel Mackey.

Jaleel is co-founder (with Tom Williamson) of Breath Rise + Thrive which started in 2020. "The message kind of came to me, I know breathwork, I know meditation, I know what it means to navigate times of uncertainty… I know what it means to try to fix my life, repair the brokenness. And try to come out on the other side with a little bit more clarity and purpose and a sense of who I am. And so I said, you know what, I'm best suited in the streets, in the trenches. So I quit my job at Google, started BRT, to teach people breathwork, meditation and other types of peak performance tools for them to navigate times of uncertainty. Which it felt like the world really needed at that time." -Jaleel Mackey

In this episode we cover:

  • Setting intentional time to be emotional

  • How to put yourself back together

  • Emotional dexterity as a practice

  • How to express anger productively

  • Using the breath to remember our humanness

  • Naming emotions in conversation

  • Creating opportunities for connection and dialogue

  • Detaching from outcomes

  • Authenticity & Vulnerability

You can find Jaleel on Instagram here and LinkedIn here.

Breathe, Rise + Thrive here.

1 Comment
Hedge School
How to be Human Series
Charted explorations of humanness by a collective of humans walking their own path in life